Alaska, Mexico and Beyond…

“One Journey Leads to Another”

Yellow

YELLOW IN OAXACA

Spring in Oaxaca

In Mexico these yellow trees are called Primavera, or Spring.

B & B "El Secreto"

The name of this B & B is “El Secreto”, but you wouldn’t have trouble finding it! It’s located right across the street from the primavera tree!

Yellow Wool

Teotitlán del Valle is a village well-known for splendid hand-woven rugs.The artists dye their own wool, the majority using natural dyes.I attended a dyeing workshop, and we dyed this yellow wool with pericón, or Mexican tarragon. The blue wool is dyed with indigo.

Check out yellow around the world at http://www.wheresmybackpack.wordpress.com

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Yellow

  1. Alex Hurst on said:

    How cool! I love the candid shot at the bottom. You lead an awesome life! 🙂

  2. Thanks a lot! I will do a blog about the dyeing workshop, but it might be a few weeks…
    After I posted this I saw a totally bright yellow dump truck that would have been a fun addition!

  3. Wonderful post. I love especially the last photo.

  4. Thanks, Sartenada. At the end of the three day workshop, my friend and I got to divide all the yarn we had done, and I commissioned these wonderful people to weave a rug for us with my part. It should be finished later this month, and I’ll post a photo.

Leave a Reply

